An Excellent Wife Who Can Find?

On any given day, when I walk through the door after coming home from work, there stands (or sits, or crawls, or changes diapers, or fixes dinner, etc.) one of the strongest women that I know. 

An excellent wife who can find?
She is far more precious than jewels.
 

While I am at work, I think about home often, but I worry about home almost never. Who better to entrust my home and my sons than to the one whom God has entrusted to me? 

The heart of her husband trusts in her,
and he will have no lack of gain.
 

If I enjoy any period of success in any venture, it’s because she’s been behind me. Sometimes it’s a gentle word of encouragement. Sometimes it’s a well-needed and well-timed rebuke. I am better because of her wisdom.

Her husband is known in the gates
when he sits among the elders of the land.

I’m not always good at thinking about what wonderful things happen at home. But when I do, I’m in awe. Daily, she actively puts on strength and resolve; pursuing the hearts of four men in training.

She dresses herself with strength
and makes her arms strong.
 

She stays busy. She is often exhausted. Her own needs are often placed in the corner, buried under stuffed animals and toys. She’s okay with that. She put them there.

She looks well to the ways of her household
and does not eat the bread of idleness.

My sons and I are not always good at remembering that. But we’re grateful for her. In fact, we would be a mess without her. What words can be said that would rightfully honor her?

Her children rise up and call her blessed;
her husband also, and he praises her:
 

There are many faithful women who love Jesus. Many women who make excellent wives and mothers. But none have committed themselves to me like she has.

“Many women have done excellently,
but you surpass them all.”
 

Who am I to have received such a gift?

Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain,
but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.
 

2 thoughts on “An Excellent Wife Who Can Find?”

  1. Amen! She IS everything you noted. So thankful for her–she loves Jesus, my boy (her man) and my grandbabies. Thankful for you too son! Love you.

Leave a comment